Local Icons

A time-honoured village

Find out about Rosalie Village’s fascinating past as one of Brisbane’s early commercial precincts.

This time-honoured village with heart has heritage landmarks and is home to longstanding businesses that have loyal customer followings. Discover the local icons of the area that have stood the test of time and find out what everybody’s talking about!

A time-honoured and much-loved precinct

Rosalie is thought to have been named after the pastoral station ‘Rosalie Plains’, owned by early Milton resident and pastoralist, John McDougall, who purchased land around Nash Street in 1882. Rosalie was a suburb until 1975, before being designated as a locality within Paddington.

The current Rosalie Village has its roots in the original main street – Nash Street, which had become Rosalie’s commercial centre by the 1890s. In 1895 there was a blacksmith, two fruiterers, two boot-makers, a newsagent, hairdresser and draper.

Heritage landmarks

The Rosalie Village precinct is bookended by heritage landmarks with Milton State School on Bayswater Street and the former Rosalie School of Arts Commemoration Hall and Little Citizens Free Kindergarten on the corners of Nash and Elizabeth Streets.

Milton State School – 1889

Milton State School was established in 1889 as Rosalie State School on land originally known as ‘Red Jacket Swamp’. The school continues to operate from this original site, and its Depression-era Brick School Building is a local landmark. Adjacent to Gregory Park and framed by mature trees, it is an attractive and prominent feature of the area.

Little Citizens Free Kindergarten – 1935

The Little Citizens Free Kindergarten was built in 1935 at 57 Elizabeth Street and continues to operate as the C & K Rosalie Community Kindergarten and Preschool. It is rare in Queensland as a purpose-built kindergarten constructed before World War Two. 

Rosalie School of Arts Commemoration Hall - 1928

The 1920s saw increased development in Rosalie, and the Rosalie Progress Association sponsored a Rosalie School of Arts Committee, for the purpose of erecting a Memorial Hall. The community funded the construction of the Rosalie School of Arts Commemoration Hall (also known as the RSL Hall) which opened in 1928.

The large timber building, on the corner of Nash and Elizabeth Streets, has a multi-level stepped design which is a significant feature of the precinct. The ground floor of the Nash Street frontage, below the level of the main hall, was designed to accommodate two shops.  The shop currently occupied by Global Eyes contained a Dressmaker in 1930, Trump Cycles from 1938 to 1942, and a sub-centre of the Maternal and Child Welfare Service from 1942, which was still open one day a week in 1978. The shop which is now home to Made. By Jessika and Brow Squad. contained a Bootmaker’s business between 1935 and 1947. The RSL sold the property in 2004, and the hall itself currently contains The Method. Pilates and Barre studio and The Yoga Cooperative, accessed from the carpark on Elizabeth Street.  Paddington Massage occupies the small house at 52 Elizabeth Street, which sits just to the north of the hall.

Businesses that stand the test of time

Explore Rosalie Village and its surrounding streets using Brisbane City Council's Reminisce in Rosalie Heritage Trail to delve further into the stories behind this historic area.

Come & experience it for yourself

Rosalie Village is where the locality’s historic charm meets the latest trends in food, drink, and entertainment. Come and experience it for yourself.